3800Pro Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am new to this but I have a plan to turbo my grand prix's 3800 using cartuning.com's turbo kit, I would also like to build my motor in addition to this. My problem is that I am running a bone stock 4t65e transmission and I doubt it would last long with the possibly 300 -400 hp set up I'm hoping for. So I was hoping someone would be able to throw me a list of transmissions that could handle this. Front wheel, rear wheel, automatic, and manual are all fine as long as they bolt to the 3800 (or can be made to). I'm just looking to weigh my options here. Thank you so much for reading and thank you for any suggestions.

·
Super Moderator
814 Posts
You can adapt any GM transmission under the sun to this, depending on what you're doing with it. For the sake of being in a Grand Prix using a CT kit, that would mean you'll most likely just want to consider some upgrades for the 4T65e. Manuals in FWD configuration don't last too long with the full-size weight and power combo (many Fiero swappers keep re-learning this lesson).

Not sure why you'd ask about RWD, but that's a pretty broad list, too. If you are going to chop up the underside of your GP's frame, or put the setup in a RWD chassis, the list is pretty much anything you want to adapt (physically and control-wise, as necessary).

The engine is less of a concern, as long as you have the maintenance on point and buy whatever upgrades with supporting items necessary. Tuning is a big key, and something many people hope to avoid themselves, usually giving up and selling because it's key to optimizing the work. Some pay to get it dialed in and are stuck with what they're provided, but it depends on how much you really want to spend, time and money, to learn your car as it changes.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·