3800Pro Forums banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just been thinking lately about the high end replacement blowers. It seems that the popularity of the MP112 is a bit higher, but it seems like the whipple is growing as well. I was wondering which blower is actually better overall for an L67. Obviously, assume the car has all the supporting mods, since it would be pointless to upgrade from the m90 w/o all the supporting mods in place. I was just wondering if one was superior to the other, and what advantages each has.

·
Registered
42 Posts
I am no expert.... but from what I have gathered...

The MP112 is more or less a longer version of the M90 that is able to push more air and operate more effeciently and at lower temperatures (allowing it to run at higher boost levels without creating too much heat as the M90 does).

The Whipple is actually a twin screw blower, that is capable of compressing said air, making for a more dense and powerful combustion. It also operates mor efficiantly and at lower temperatures then the MP112, and is eons above the M90, allowing it to run at far highger boost levels than either.

Atleast, this is what I have gathered.

animuL would be your man on this question though.

·
Registered
347 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
yeah, I've been talking to him via email a bit lately. I'm really looking for a goal to set for my motor (be it installed before or after the engine goes in the car). I only started even thinking about the whipple after I found you could actually get "bolt on" kits for it. Anyone know hp wise what mp112s are putting down on these engines compared to whipples?

·
Registered
98 Posts
One thing that I was told about the Whipple, is that the it uses less HP to operate. As it's a lot more efficient in it's operation. I know when the time is up for my M90 I will definately be going the 2300 option... :D