3800Pro Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off I want to apologize if I have posted this in the wrong place as I'm new to the forums here, if it needs moved to a more appropriate place feel free to move it. Second, both "I'm sorry" and "thank you" for reading this entire post as it's a bit long and complicating! I am still a novice when it comes to cars so I will be as detailed as I can while I explain my problem.

I have a 1989 Buick Electra (Park Avenue sub-model), it came with a V6 3800 (this one to be precise), and it has 145k miles on it. Back at the beginning of October I found I had a leaking head gasket, oil had leaked all through my radiator and back to my coolant reservoir before I got it home to get fixed. The advice from my other mechanically-inclined family members was to replace the engine itself instead of the head gaskets (which by the way this is the one and only time I ever make that mistake, if this happens again I go with my gut and change the gaskets). I had the old motor replaced with one of the exact same, another V6 3800 Pre-Series that was pulled from a 1990 Buick Reatta. I looked over both engines and they are similar from top to bottom, every single plug, mount, bolt, hole, etc from what I could see is identical between the two. I bought it used, it has only 45k miles on it, and looks to be more in shape than my old one. The yard I got it from said the Reatta it used to be in was totaled from the side and that it sat on their shelf for a little over a year before I bought it. I'm inclined to believe them about the mileage on it because this engine does in fact run, it makes no obscene or out of place noise, and looks well kept.