3800Pro Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
New to this forum (but not to car forums in general so I'll skip all the noob garbage if you do) and looking for a realistic approach to upgrading the engine mounts. I just bought an '02 SSEi for a daily driver. My ZR2 sucks enough gas as is. 15-30 mpg sounds a lot better than 5-10 this summer.

I'm noticing a pretty good thump when I lift off the pedal after laying into it a little. Whether or not this is an engine mount remains to be seen, but since I'm thinking about it, I figure I'll replace them anyway. And why not go with poly, I figure? Well, I can't seem to find any through Prothane or Energy Suspension.

Since I'm new to this car as well, I figured I better join a forum and start asking. Sure, I know I'm probably going to see a lot of kids with some crazy ideas and big talk, but I know that there are probably some normal human beings like myself on here who actually do know a thing or two about taking care of these cars. So wherever you are, I'd like to hear from you.

·
Registered
33 Posts
I think the transmission mount on the front side lower of tranny gives problems. They have a shock absorber on it along with rubber mount sandwiched between the metal plates. The mount cost like 70 bucks at your local parts store.Dont know of an upgrade altho there prolli is one. The design seems destin for failure from the start.I changed a couple.I thought about drilling a hole through both plates and rubber and putting like a 1/4 or 5/16 bolt with a nut and washers on it to keep it tight with the rubber. It seems as if its only glued you might say. Maybe that would only let the mount stress just so much ya know. Thats kinda what that shock does.It will lose its gas charge or somethin.It may be due to over extending after the rubber breaks. No pun intended. Good luck on your endeavors man.

·
Registered
1,677 Posts