3800Pro Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sometimes when the engine is cold and temp is cold it will start just fine warm up to operating temp and be fine all day! The next day same start up condition starts fine run it for 5-10 minutes with out driving, shut it off come back later in the day will not start have to give it full throttle to get it to run but runs like **** back firing rough and runs really really rich!
I bought this car for my son it's a 1991 Oldsmobile 98 regency elite with 220000 miles with the best motor that ever came out of GM the 3800 Buick motor which I love to death that is saying a lot since I was a certified Mopar tech! Which was a long time ago and before I had a SAH type brain aneurysm that ruptured and ended up bleeding for almost 5 days so my mind is not what it used to be, so please help me for my son! I have just about revamped the interior with a 70's flair (a lot of velvet, I love messing with my son! It's so FUN! lol) which looks great, but for this problem I have installed a new computer, coils, ICM (Magnavox), Timing chain since I was there to replace the cam sensor and magnet which I epoxied in and the O2 sensor just tuned up new fuel filter spark plugs etc.. It has 2 codes related to this I am assuming that. The other codes are related to ac and cruise control and anti theft. 42 Electronic spark timing which is intermittent and does not light up the SES well not long enough to notice it and the big one 65 rich exhaust right bank which I am assuming it is a misprint since I only have 1 but I do believe it has something to do with this and might be causing it along with something else maybe a Fuel pressure regulator or a throttle body issue. Am I on the right track? I want to clean the TB which should have been done during a tune up, but only if it was done by a Pro and upsold. the other is the fuel pressure regulator can the GM version get locked into place and act like its a wide open t