3800Pro Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I am going to be heading to the dyno this week for some tuning time. I am still pretty new to the whole tuning aspect of the car.

Chris Y and John T have been helping out with the AFC 2.0 and it is much appreciated. I feel comfortable in what I have currently on the AFC, now it is time to go to the dyno and get it finer tuned.

Here's my question(s).

What # should be the target on the wideband? I am hearing everything from 11.5-12.4 Someone was saying the "Prime" is 12.1

When making the first pull, it will come up with #X...and then an adjustment will be made on the AFC. In the past, i have been taught that an adjustment on the AFC takes approximately 20-30 miles to be "learned" by the PCM. If an adjustment is made between pulls, will the PCM "unlearn" the adjustment just made? Or will it stick??

I do plan on having HP Tuner Suite in the very near future, but for now, I wanted to get a # on the dyno as a base.

I plan on running the dyno on 93octane with a 3.1 pulley. The car seems to be really happy with that on right now. Over the weekend I was fine tuning the AFC (or as fine as I can get) and was seeing 0KR with LTFT at 0.8 and B1S1 @ 915-920.

From there, I would like to tune down another pulley size in a couple of weeks. That way I know what #'s to go back to in the future.

·
Registered
565 Posts
Well, I don't have a lot of insight here, but I do have a little.

You basically want to get about as lean as you can without knock. This will obviously depend on your mods, and your engine. There is a wide A/F range that will only gain you a small amount of power, so I would shoot for the safe end of it. 12.1 sounds like a good starting point. Start there, and adjust leaner/richer depending on how it reacts.