3800Pro Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How exactly does it work? Does it only affect WOT readings, or does it end up affecting the way the car runs period? Since I have a FWI, should I be running a MAF Translator? How would I know if I needed one? Any help appreciated :)

·
Premium Member
1,158 Posts
Hey there. Honestly, i'm just learning about it myself as I need to get this all straight to fix my problem.. That being said, I posted a Thread posted in "PCM'S and TUNING" column just above here called "O2 Sensor values, LTFT/STFT". Regardless of my problem, i've recieved a couple of replies regarding the operating principles of the AFC version 1.1 and 2.0. Hope this will get you started anyway. Good luck. :cool:

·
Registered
27 Posts
It only effects the AF ratio when the MAF sensor is used. Mainly WOT or close to it.

·
Registered
1998 GTP coupe. Stock and rust free. Totaled @ 87K miles
126 Posts
hvactech said:
How exactly does it work? Does it only affect WOT readings, or does it end up affecting the way the car runs period? Since I have a FWI, should I be running a MAF Translator? How would I know if I needed one? Any help appreciated :)
You know the PCM using MAFF, IAT, and ECT to lookup the base IPW in the fueling table. The table cals are based on the factory designed intake and pulley, so when you switch to a CAI and a smaller pulley you upset the balance of the fueling cal. So you can trick the PCM into see more or less air than in the calibration table to adjust the fueling.

The AFC 1.0 is a small microcontroller that scales the MAF frequency (MAFF) by a percentage you set with the switches. The v1.0 has 8 switches like a binary counter:

128 64 32 16 8 4 2 1
ON
OFF

The percentage scaling you get is the sum of the ON switches. Example: if switches 64, 32, and 2 are ON and all others OFF, you get 98% scaling. So if the input MAFF is 1000 Hz, the AFC will scale this to 980 Hz.